My first ever white christmas holiday

Finally I arrived safe in Toronto, Canada last week after I missed my connecting flight from New Jersey (US) and when the city was hit by a snow storm. I could still see patches of snow along the roads, including piles of it in front of my cousin’s house.  It was a wonderful feeling to have a white Christmas vacation, and be away from my research work at uni for the entire holiday season.

 

I already had a glimpse of snow in the higher grounds of the eastern region of the States from the plane window after 7 hours’ flight coming from Belfast. Unfortunately, I stayed overnight near the airport since my flight was delayed and at the same time missed my connecting flight. I was not lucky to have a sit in the succeeding flights of Continental airlines on that day, but instead have a free accommodation at Howard Johnson Hotel for 6 hours, with free dinner and breakfast vouchers to catch up the next day’s flight.

 

I already visited the city centre of Toronto and went to the Uni of Toronto 4th largest library in North America.  The library is housed at Robarts Building and I found out that the building has a number 13 floor which is quite unusual.  For curiousity, I decided to investigate what’s inside this floor – something spooky! It is a normal floor full of shelves with books and study tables. Nothing weird about this floor and I think nothing to worry about if buildings have lucky 13 floor.

I spent my Xmas day and Boxing day in North Carolina (US) with friend’s family. We visited a kababayan in Durham whom I havent meet for almost 15 years.  It was a long 12 hours drive from Toronto to reach this tobacco-producing state. I did enjoy meeting my cousins and friends especially this time of the year.

For details of my travels, visit my travel blog site: Etraveldiary

How about you, where did you spend your Xmas holiday? Was it enjoyable and fun? Were your Xmas wishes did come true?

 

~ by reymos on December 25, 2007.

One Response to “My first ever white christmas holiday”

  1. I haven’t been here in a while. This has been a really nice place.

    By the way, I’ve always dreamed of what a White Christmas feels like. Congratulations for experiencing it for the first time.

    I wish I can travel more like you. Happy Holidays, Rey!

Leave a Reply

 
