Save Sibuyan Island (Philippines) from mining (PART 2)

THIS IS MY FOLLOW-UP JOURNAL about my hometown versus the doubled-bladed mining operation. I posted my first journal on this controversial issue last October 2007. (click HERE for the link)

Few months later, so many things happened which somehow brought Sibuyan Island to the limelight and even a headline in various Philippine daily newspapers. These events either brought positive or negative impacts to the people of Sibuyan, but personally I think everything is going on the right direction.

There are ordinary people that somehow extended their support and encouragement to continue to promote in saving Sibuyan Island from mining destruction. And this is the reason why I inspired to do a follow-up journal about it. When I was there in February 2007, I joined the rally and even invited to speak in front of the people and expressed my moral support to the organizer, SAM. The space of my website is not enough to list down the names of this ordinary citizens who are willing to spare their lives for the betterment of Sibuyanons.

But there is one person that I really want to share my admiration for his song composition… his name is Mazzenie “Udon” Romero. Unfortunately, he will not be able to read this journal but Im sure he will be happy to share his song to everyone. I was able to get the lyrics of the song, entitled “MINA” and last year, I contacted someone in Manila to include this song in an environmental record to be released this month. Unfortunately, it did not materialise that this song will be part of the album. Nevertheless, I am sharing this song thru my blog and hopefully I will be able to upload the video or the audio version of it in the near future.

MINA

 

I

Ibinigay ng diyos sa ating biyaya

Sibuyan pinagpala

Akoy nagtataka

Kung bakit dumating ang pagmimina sa talaba

 

Refrain

Mapapansin kaya mina lang ang sisira

Kung kakampi ko ang lahat

May pag asa pang di magigiba

 

Chorus

Awit na nananawagan

Dasal sa dios ay pakinggan

Sa kanya lang ang sandigan

Kung lahat ng taoy magkaisang pigilan

Pagpalain mula sa langit

Katarungan syang makakamit

Kung may pagkakaisa

Mananalo tayong lahat

 

II

Ang swerte nga naman ng mina

Sa nickel na may pera

Sa huli,baka magsisi ka

 

Repeat Refrain

Chorus

 

III

Mag isip isip naman sila

Kalikasan ay mahalaga

Itoy biyayang bigay

Sa atin ng Maykapal

 

Repeat Refrain

Chorus 2x

 

NOTE: To sign for petition against mining, please click here, while for the newly created site for Sibuyan Island against mining, click here.

~ by reymos on April 16, 2008.

4 Responses to “Save Sibuyan Island (Philippines) from mining (PART 2)”

  1. […] Sibuyan Island (Romblon). If you are interested to find more about it, check here:  Part One, Part Two, Part Three. Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Sikora Recovering 54.597269 […]

  2. Dear Sam,
    March 2010

    Hope that you still remember our first meeting in UST and then in my office at Asian Social Institute where we met a lot of concern Sibuyanon against mining…..A teen ager girl at that time became my undergraduate student at UST. She told me if I remember her…She said that she was a part of that Sibuyan delegation.

    Many things have happened eversince you became the Sibuyan Counterpart of ATM. I am happy for you because you stood straight of what you wanted to do for God and His People.

    Now, I am going to Sibuyan myself to experience those historical events that have happened in the Island which we have loved so much to protect and conseerve.

    regards,
    Prof.Ernesto R.Gonzales,Ph.D (Fellow, London School of Economics)
    Visiting Professor, University of the Philippines, Manila
    Chair, Economics,National Research Council of the Phil (2003 & 09)

  3. Where could I find Crista De Gallo ? My province is there and I wanna seek new places there . I hope you could be of any help . Thanks .

Leave a Reply

 
