Being a CHAMPS’ team member in finger lickin’ good job!

AT THE EARLY AGE, I learned the value of having a job and the monetary it offers. At the age of 22, I got my first formal 8-5 work at my university while I was taking a full-time Engineering course at the same time.  It was not an easy life – from 8 hours work and 4 hours devoted in my studies, 5 days a week. I did it for 2 years until I finally got my Civil Engineer license after passing the board exam.

Again, when I completed my Masters degree in Urban Planning abroad I decided to work back to my home country and from then on I accepted a part-time lecturing job in my Alma Mater teaching a post graduate program for Civil Engineers. Having this job on Saturdays, I was also employed full-time in a government plannning authority on weekdays.

After so many years of having full-time work, doing part-time teaching as well as accepting short-tem consultancy assignments, I decided to accept a study grant  abroad to pursue a MPhil in Environmental Engineering. During that time, part-time work was really lucrative. Well, I got two jobs:a house-to-house leaflets handyman and a janitor in a shopping mall. I did it for a year and I was able to save some money for my travel to Britain and Europe, at the same time sent some extra cash for my family.

WELL I WAS FORTUNATE AGAIN to receive a grant to pursue my PhD in Property Management abroad. This is my third year and within 8 months  I will be able to submit my thesis for final examination.  Towards completion, I decided to find a simple non-professional work even though Im also teaching tutorial classes in my university for the past 2 years now. This non-professional job is only for weekend commitment just to get extra money. Im now a member of KFC’s CHAMPS team!

Finger lickin' good store

Finger lickin' good store

Being a team member, I will work towards achieving KFC’s corporate slogan – CHAMPS which means Cleanliness, Hospitality, Accuracy, Maintenance, Product Quality and Speed. Every member’s task is motivated by CHAMPS. I thought it was easy job but it is hardwork and physical endurance to stand long hours until midnight. In a short period of time, I have to learn how to prepare different burger meals and to work in the counter – serving these meals in different package/promo deals within on-minute target time! And most of all, I have to SMILE all day, despite customers’ complains, aching feet and drying lips!

Having the opportunity to work in a food chain, I have a high respect to the people who prepare and serve the food. They are ordinary individuals who are working hard to earn for a living. At the end of the day, these people ensure every food being served is fresh, hot, cold and in high standard in a clean, friendly working environment! Meet some of them as they shown in the photos below!

UPDATES (22 Dec 2008):  KFC employs a mechanism to ensure that CHAMPS is sustainably implemented through  regular store monitoring and evaluation. Few months ago we had our evaluation and gladly we got 88% rating which I personally witnessed on how the evaluator inspected our regular activities in the store. The main findings mainly focused on the cleanliness of the surrounding area, especially the parking and drive-thru areas.  Within that period, I was also evaluated by a mystery shopper as a front staff! As newly recruited team member, I was worried to get a low rating, but my surprised I got 97% mark! Few weeks ago, another evaluation was conducted and unfortunately we got a very low mark and even two my colleagues failed to get a pass CHAMPS mark. The last two photos above were taken after the evaluation.

~ by reymos on August 17, 2008.

3 Responses to “Being a CHAMPS’ team member in finger lickin’ good job!”

  1. I finally decided to write a comment on your blog. I just wanted to say good job. I really enjoy reading your posts.

  2. galing! i salute you!

  3. Hi, congrats on your new parttime job. CHAMPS reminds me so much of my Pizza Hut days working under Marketing :p

Leave a Reply

 
