Finally… I made it… 4 years in the making!

thesiscopyFEW MINUTES AGO I successfully prepared four copies of my PhD thesis for examination. Im very tired for few days of irregular sleeps just to meet my deadline. Im excited to go home to Philippines next week for a short break! I will enjoy again the delicious “balut”!  Be back to UK to defend my thesis in October. My research is about property – trying to assess the performance of mixed-use projects using the average occupancy rate as the dependent variable.

I will take this opportunity to thank my parents, my brothers and sisters and friends who always my inspiration in life!

Watch out for my long journal about my academic life since 2005!

UPDATES: I have to defend my thesis on the 26th October which will take almost 2 hours of discussion. My external examiner is coming from University of Aberdeen (Scotland) and the internal examiner is our Head of School (Art, Design and the Built Environment). Wish me luck!

~ by reymos on September 5, 2009.

5 Responses to “Finally… I made it… 4 years in the making!”

  1. Do you have plans beyond October?

    • Hello Alan,

      Thanks for the comment thru my blogsite. Well, if my viva next month went well, I will apply for visa extension until Dec to finalise my thesis and attend the graduation in Dec. I will also apply for the 2-year postgrad scheme to work in the UK. But if I could find an employer after October to sponsor my work permit, then it will be easier to apply for the visa. Otherwise, I will go straight to Los Angeles to find my luck there. Im also in the process of applying in Bangkok for consultancy and professorial work.

      Hope you are doing well.

      All the best,

      Rey

  2. Great job, Rey. Just cast my vote for you. Good luck with your thesis. Miss your photo entries and essay on jpgmag. Just contack me if you happen to be in CA. particularly San Jose.

    Hope you are already good and well after your PI vacation.

    L.

  3. I finally defended my thesis with minor corrections. I will be busy finalising the final copy towards the end of 2009. Expect a journal post about higher learning abroad… By the way, Built Environmnet is the deparment I belong and from the time I started by research in Oct 2005, it was under the School of Engineering.

Leave a Reply

 
