Asian Institute of Technology (AIT) Golden Jubilee Celebration: Part One

aiEIGHTEEN YEARS AGO, ASIAN INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY (AIT) was my first residence abroad. AIT is located in Pathumthani, Bangkok, Thailand (besides Thammassat University – the host of the SEA Games in December 2007).

To study in AIT was not my plan but my dream during those younger years of my life was to pursue post graduate studies abroad. I was fortunate to receive a full scholarship grant to study MSc in Urban Planning for 22 months.

September 8 is the 50th anniversary of AIT and being an alumnus of the Institute, this rare occasion is something not to be missed. It was not easy to plan ahead of my itinerary considering that Im on my final year of my PhD in Northern Ireland. Luckily, despite my extension for my research, I was able to submit my thesis on Sept 5, the day before I left for Bangkok to attend the golden jubilee.

I still have close friends working in AIT and to save some extra money for the accommodation, I contacted them and they offered me a place for 4 days. Carla and Pats are hospitable and accommodating to be my host for 3 nights. JP and KP are their boys who made me stay more inspiring since these kids share the same passion with mine in reading, writing and swimming. I am sure that these boys will have bright future careers and their parents are very proud for their achievements!

My student ID (18 yrs ago)

My student ID (18 yrs ago)

My homecoming brought joy to my heart and teary eyes. I was happy and excited to meet my old friends and officemates; walking around the campus – from the library to my old dorm (Block H, 37), and from the swimming pool to my old office room.  I visited every corner of the campus, just to feel again the quiet atmosphere of AIT which is conducive for learning and working. It was a wonderful feeling to see again these places that have strong influences in my life and careers after 18 years.

My AIT life is one of the best parts of my living abroad and I had fond memories which Im happy to share with my readers. I still have close contacts with my Filipino batch mates and friends mostly living around the world. This is the reason why I don’t have any difficulty to travel every where to meet them again.

I don’t want to write a long journal at the moment for limited wireless connection here in Bangkok. Starbucks offers 150 Baht/hour (200 pesos per hour, £3/hour) connection. It is a reasonable rate with aircon and good ambience! Enjoy my photos during my visit to AIT – the place where I became, a stage actor, choir member, a presenter, student representative and an environmentalist!

ait ait2 ait3

ait5 ait11 ait7

Note: The second part is about the activities during the 50th anniversary.

~ by reymos on September 10, 2009.

4 Responses to “Asian Institute of Technology (AIT) Golden Jubilee Celebration: Part One”

  1. […] and friends! My attendance during the AIT golden jubilee celebration was a success. More stories, CLICK HERE.   My quest for PEBA top Expats/OFWs Blog Award nominee is promising having in the top 10 […]

  2. Hello Kuya Rey!

    You posts are so inspiring… I will keep on reading your blog for your stories never fail to inspire me to take extra mile in everything I do. Right now, I am struggling to finish all the paperworks which I have to submit tomorrow. I don’t feel like doing it because the school admin only requires us to do these for the sake of the coming evaluation.

    Reading your posts, I have been awakened that the thing that I have to do is only a little part of the sacrifices that I have to do as I chase my dreams.

    BTW, I learned that Ramos was here during the anniversary of AIT and he met the Filipinos at the Phil. Embassy. I am supposed to come but I had class that time.

    I am sure you had a great stay in Bangkok. Too bad we were not able to meet. Anyway, good luck!

  3. Hello Kuya Rey!

    You posts are so inspiring… I will keep on reading your blog for your stories never fail to inspire me to take extra mile in everything I do. Right now, I am struggling to finish all the paperworks which I have to submit tomorrow. I don’t feel like doing it because the school admin only requires us to do these for the sake of the coming evaluation.

    Reading your posts, I have been awakened that the thing that I have to do is only a little part of the sacrifices that I have to do as I chase my dreams.

    BTW, I learned that Ramos was here during the anniversary of AIT and he met the Filipinos at the Phil. Embassy. I am supposed to come but I had class that time.

    I am sure you had a great stay in Bangkok. Too bad we were not able to meet. Anyway, good luck!

  4. Hi Rey. Kissy here. It’s good that you arrived in Manila and enjoying ur stay. I hope to start writing soon:) Btw. can u send our pictures at sumaylo.kathlynkissy@gmail.com. Keep in touch

Leave a Reply

 
