My Birthday Wish List

THIS IS ONLY A PARTIAL LIST of my bday wish. These 10 wishes are my primary targets for me to achieve in the next 2 years (until 2011). With the guidance of the Almighty, Im very determine to work on the list; however there might be changes due to unavoidable circumstances (health, finances, commitments, etc.). I will do an update on this towards the end of 2010 and 2011.

1. Immediate conferment of my doctoral degree in the Built Environment. Im on the process of finalizing the copies of my thesis based on the examiners comments after my oral defense/viva in October 2009. I have a maximum of 6 months to do it; otherwise my other plan to work in the UK/Europe for a short while will be delayed.

2. To write one or two journal papers for publication or present international/local conference papers in relation to my research projects on Mixed-use development in urban regeneration areas.

3. To work in an international consulting firm which allows me to travel in Asia, UK/Europe and the US. And at the same time, to have a part-time teaching job in the university.

4. To apply for residency in Australia. I prefer to live in Brisbane. I had the opportunity to work and study in Brisbane for 2 years and I love to go back there! This is a back-up plan if I could not get a full time work in the UK/Europe.

5. To build a community mini-library/information resource center in my hometown (Sibuyan Island, Romblon, Philippines). I have already collected hundreds of books and it is still growing!

6. To serve as a UN Volunteer or any Philippine voluntary/humanitarian work on environment. I did my first voluntary work as an Urban Planner (for 3 months) 15 years ago when I joined the Subic Bay Metropolitan Authority (SBMA) in the rehabilitation of the former American base in Olongapo City.

7. To take a one/2-weeks Caribbean or Black Sea cruise holiday package. Im really desperate to travel on a passenger ship. I did apply before as a Deck Secretary for Caribbean cruises; unfortunately after my seafarers training with Magsaysay,  my assignment was not approved due to 911 bombing. Im a little curious on the waste management (particularly on disposal) inside the luxury ships.

8. To visit the African region, meeting with old friends residing in Ghana and Kenya.

9. To buy an apartment/studio unit in the Philippines, maybe in Makati, Quezon City or Mandaluyong areas. Until now, I’m a certified NPA – new permanent address!

10. To travel locally in the Philippines, including a climb/trek to Mt Guiting-guiting (Sibuyan Island, Romblon, Philippines) and snorkeling in the underground river of Palawan. I want to bring my Irish friends to the exotic islands of the Philippines.

~ by reymos on December 14, 2009.

2 Responses to “My Birthday Wish List”

  1. one word… WOW! 🙂

  2. […] my ten birthday wishes and I’m very determine to achieve them in two years time…Read more  about it!  Updates on the 2-weeks UN Climate Change conference in Denmark, Click here.    By […]

Leave a Reply

 
