Tom Baker’s Meme: My reply

NOTE: I posted a journal about this mimic blogging last 21 November which I got it from CARL DORSEY’s website: Iron Cook: American . The original article was posted in Morning Erection and thru my website, SundayStealing  featured it last 28 November entitled it as Tom Baker’s Meme. Unfortunately fans of SundayStealing have already posted their answers on that week instead of having shared them on the 12th of December as stipulated in the rules of participation. Anyway, this is my response to the 10 questions and I do hope it will give you some information about myself! Maybe you will be inspired to do the same… it is fun!

1.If you could interview anyone on your blog (alive or dead) who would you chose and why? I want to have a one-on-one discussion with the late president of the Philippines, Ferdinand E. Marcos. Why? Once and for all, I would like to ask him about the highlights of his leadership which for some it was considered as a “dictatorial regime”; and his future plans after the snap election for the country despite the criticisms, condemnation, and the blames for the death of Ninoy Aquino (husband of the former lady President, Cory Aquino).  I will also find out about his motivation in the declaration of Martial Law – were there any regrets for its implementation or was there any hidden agenda for the snap election? Finally, I will enquire if “People Power” did not work out, what was his first move to stabilize the political situation of the Philippines?  Note: Until now, the family and the supporters of the late Ferdinand Marcos are still waiting for the official declaration or recognition as being one of the greatest leaders in Asia.

2.  What do you feel is your strength as a blogger? I think my greatest strength in blogging is my diverse personal experiences both in my education and profession, including my travelling  and outlook in life as manifested in my hobbies and interests. I do maintain several blogsites that focus mainly on my professional work, hobbies, interests or anything worth sharing. My ultimate motivation for blogging is to share my ideas on how to “enjoy life to the fullest”. My blogsite – My world is getting smaller every day reflects my “simple way of living” – a way of embracing life with optimism despite the challenges along the winding road of life! Note: I created more than 30 websites, including membership to various social networking and travel sites, and half of them are actively maintained on a regular basis.

3. Can you share a little bit about yourself that you have not already mentioned on your blog?  This is tough to share some secrets! First, I always pick my nose and do regular hair cutting on it and some parts of my body using a tiny stainless scissor which I bought it in America in 1997! You might be surprised that I don’t leave the house without bringing a digital camera. Third, I love clearance sales from Abercrombie & Fitch, Hollister, and Calvin Klein. Finally, I have an adopted daughter! Note: Her nickname is Iya.

4. If you were forced to change the name of your blog, what would you change it to? Why?  Honestly, My world is getting smaller every day powered by wordpress evolved from just a simple personal travel journal, entitled My Simple Life thru Friendster. Then later on, I created blogsites powered by Blogger/Blogspot showcasing my interest in photography, traveling and reading. In 2009, I consolidated all of my sites into one modern and stylish site powered by Winx, entitled My Blogspherical World of Living.  If ever I will change it, I would rename it as: My world is getting bigger every day with my own domain. You have noticed that I replaced “smaller” to “bigger” in the original title. Why? Maybe it is because of the wide coverage of my journals/posts, covering a wider readership worldwide. I feel that the title perfectly fit with my blog on the basis of the scope and the network that I have already established from the time I started blogging in 2004. It means that I have a bigger world to embrace for every moment – having a diverse of people visiting my site which creates a greater challenge for me to improve and write better.

 5. What do you think is the most fulfilling part of being a blogger? Getting a feedback or comment is the ultimate sign of fulfillment, however, sadly majority of my readers do not post or leave their comments which is sometimes disappointing. Despite the low percentage of comments in my site, it did not stop me on continuing sharing my ideas and experiences. Blogging is already part of my social being. Majority of my close friends don’t do blogging but if they have the opportunity to talk about my site, they express their appreciation and admiration for having maintain a blogsite. Of course, meeting new friends online is another thing that inspire me do blogging. Having online friends who shared the same passion in life is something worth fulfilling. Another thing is being nominated or awarded and recognized by independent award organizations is something to be proud of.  Note: My world is getting smaller every day was one of the finalists in the 2009 Pinoy Expats/OFWs Blog Awards (PEBA). The DigitalEnvironmentalist was also chosen as one of the top Environmental/Civil Engineering blogsites. Recently, the site also included in the list of the Top Blog Environmental Health.

6. What would you do with your last day if you found you had only one more day to live? I want to spend my last day being an adviser to the newly-elected President of the Philippines, Noynoy Aquino. I want to share my ideas on how to solve the urban problems: traffic congestion, urban housing, waste management, reviving old towns and cities.  For the countryside, I suggest that the President will encourage families to grow vegetables on their backyards thru micro-financing – quite similar to “Green Revolution” implemented by Marcos. In terms of the improvement in the tourism of the country, I strongly recommend that each of the local government units (LGUs) will come-up with “traveller’s guide” brochures and tv ads that highlight the attractions in each localities.  Annually, the government will choose a LGU or a group of islands as “Destinations of the Year” with strong partnerships with travel agencies and airlines.

7. You’ve been doing medical research for decades and have finally found a cure. What was it that you found a cure for and why did you choose this particular ailment? I want to be involved in looking at the possibility of prolonging the effect of aging. I admit that God created us and one day we will die but I want to use science to prevent us to get older in a short period of time, consequently we will loss our memory! Searching for a cure for aging which also affects our memory might be considered as one of the greatest achievements of man on earth. Maybe a medicine that could extend our life span up to 200 years!

 8. What is your most guilty pleasure? Sometimes, I am not verbally vocal to tell some of my friends that I watch telenovela or Filipino television series, including old movies thru TFC (The Filipino Channel). For almost 4 years now, I don’t have the opportunity to watch these Filipino film productions both in wide screen and television. But later part of this year, I was hooked to watch these old movies and Filipino telenovelas especially during my recent visit in the US. I am shy to admit but sad stories make me cry!!!

9. Answer only one. What is your favorite book, movie or TV show? My fascination with Heroes is not just only watching it regularly on TV but also having collected some of its glossy magazines and DVD copies. The characters and their powers are very interesting. The overall production, including special effects and editing are great especially in the first series. I even bought a book entitled, “Saving Charlie” which extends the story of the blossoming love interest between Niko Nakamura (who time travel) and Charlene ‘Charlie’ Andrews – the young girl who has a memory power!

10. What do you think is the very best smell in the world? The one smell that can take you back to a time and place of a very vivid memory in your past? I grew up in the countryside in one of the islands of the Philippines. When I was still young and my mother’s parents were still alive, I do regularly visit them especially during the planting and harvest seasons. My grandparents maintain a small parcel of land for rice paddies. The smell coming from the plowing of the fields ready for planting rice is a joy for me!  The open cut soil brings a natural warm smell from the earth and it means “abundance or “new beginning” to me!

~ by reymos on December 12, 2010.

26 Responses to “Tom Baker’s Meme: My reply”

  1. I agree comments are the best! Your description of the soil smell reminded me of my grandparents house when it was a small farm. You have some interesting answers. It was a joy to read.

    • Melinda thanks for reading my reply. I miss my grandparents place… It reminded of simple life – no internet and mobiles! It was a delight to spend the summer with my grandparents, able to collect some eggs hidden inside the piles of rice husks! I will read your response very soon…

  2. Hi Reymos! I wondered why your name kept coming up on the blogs of the Sunday Stealing participants. What a great concept. It really helped promote the “Baker Meme”.

    Congratulations on your blogging awards. My hat is off to you for maintaining even half of so many blogs. I would go mad 🙂
    Your answer to #6 is unique, as you want to help your country, while I think most of us would spend it with family.

    It has been fun getting to know you!

    Cheers,

    Mitch

    • Hi Mitch! Yeah, I was stunned when my post regarding Tom Baker’s meme project was featured in SundayStealing few weeks ago! Im glad that quite a number of bloggers responded positively and I think the SundayStealing is something to look forward every weekend. I love to blog and there is no surprise that I do maintain alot of blogsites. #6 question is something I want to give as a legacy… I will read yours as well.

  3. nice articles.. but somany question

  4. Great answers Reymos! Thank you for bringing the meme to Sunday Stealing. I too liked Heroes but only for the first and half of the second seasons. The show just got stupid to me after that.

    And thanks for admitting that you pick your nose. I think almost everyone does. The important thing is to remember to wash your hands afterward!

    • Hello Tom! Congratulations for bringing this meme project inspired other bloggers to join and of course, the SundayStealing provided an excellent venue for you to promote this. I already read some of them when they posted it on the week it was published in SundayStealing and I will read your replies too… With regard to Heroes, sometimes tv series lost their charisma on the later part of the series…but overall I like the concept and characters. Dont worry, I always bring a sanitizer to make sure my hands are clean enough to shake other people hands after picking!!! lol… By the way, I got your message/comment in my other blogsite and thnaks for choosing the site as part of the blog award. Unfortunately, I dont have much time to do that at the moment but I do it very soon!

  5. Some really great answers Reymos 🙂 I liked how thoughtful they were, and though I’ve never stopped by here, I feel like I’ve been able to get to know you decently well 🙂 Your blog seems really interesting, I’m going to stop by again in the future 🙂

  6. Nice answers, I like your country very much btw …

    • Thanks. No matter what, even Im always away from the Philippines, still this country is the ultimate place to live…

      • I’ve heard there are two seasons hot and very hot 🙂 that’s my kind of weather, I wish I could visit one day …

      • Actually, wet (rainy season) and dry (summer season)… Rainy season starts from June towards December, and dry might start early as February until May. Yeah, if you have the chance to visit the country, you will enjoy it – especially the hospitality of the Filipinos…

  7. I’m pretty sure everyone picks their nose 😉

    I too love getting comments.. kind of being a confirmed narccisist 🙂

    • Thanks Melanie for the dropping by… I love comments too but sometimes people who read our posts have nothing to say about it…it does not mean that our posts are nothing! Im sure alot of our readers out there are getting invaluable information or inspiration on what we are blogging. All the best.

  8. I loved your answers- especially no.3 and 9, I used to be addicted to Heroes until its season 3- it kind of lost my interest after that!
    Kudos to you for getting with the spirit of the meme!

    • Thanks for dropping by…Unfortunately, Season 3 was not exciting compare to the previous two seasons but overall I like the concept of the production. Actually, this is my first to join or answer this meme posting. All the best.

  9. Ferdinand Marcos, ei. I would say that I will agree that he is one of the greatest leaders for finally being able to implement discipline throughout the whole country.

    And I heard that this Martial Law was his undergrad thesis and he defended himself when he was jailed.

    • Hi Carizza, thanks for dropping by and of course your nice comments. I dont know that Martial Law was his undergrad thesis. It is trivia indeed and I will check on that. I will visit your website now – to find out why forced engineer…Merry Xmas!

      • I remember my Kasaysayan teacher telling me that.

        Hey, you’re an engineer yourself!

      • Yup, Im a Civil Engineer but I do more in environmental projects, not in construction. Im an urban planner and property manager as well.

      • I’m impressed! I want to be as successful as you are. 😀

      • It is hardwork and optimism in life. Im happy even I dont have my own house… still NPA – new permanent address!

      • You’ll pull through! I think you can afford.

      • Well, I can manage to travel because of the opportunity to study abroad as well. Im fortunate to get scholarship grants to pursue postgrad programs which allow me to visit other places. On the other hand, I dont have savings, but no regrets coz my principle is – I work and save money because I want to explore the world. That’s me – an truly Archer!

Leave a Reply

 
