Amazon Kindle: a new way of reading books

HAPPY NEW YEAR! This is the last day of 2010 and I am quite excited to start with the new year with a big bang especially with my passion for books. With the fast-pace of technology in communication, we can now have easy access to free ebooks, and recently Amazon.com just recently announced the lending/borrowing/sharing functionality for Kindle users. This means that selected ebooks can be borrowed from other users in a certain period of time (14 days at the moment). Unfortunately, it is quite different to verify what books are available for loans, unless you catch up with the Amazon Kindle facebook account for updates.

As my personal contribution to this “amazonian kindling” era, I will post (on a regular basis) the latest ebooks, including links of websites that provided affordable copies or maybe at its best price: FREE! There are existing sites that maintain database of free ebooks, especially the classic ones. Once in a while, Amazon US is also offering free of charge copies in a limited period of time. The Amazon UK is currently offering 1-pound for a selection of ebooks until 06 January 2011.


This week, I already downloaded a handful of copies in my white kindle3G with back-up in my laptop. Even if you dont have Kindle or ereader device, you can still read these books using your computer/laptop/netbook. The application can be downloaded from Amazon website or click the photo above. Later on, when you finally got your ereader gadget, it is easy to transfer the files from the computer.

With the start of new year, you maybe interested to check some of my ebook selection, available for download through your PC or directly to your Kindle or any any ereader device. Enjoy and share the fun in reading!

             

NOTE: Some of the interesting sites that offer freebies are shown below. You can be a member of these sites as well for managing your bookshelves (from wish list to purchased ones).

1. Manybooks. The site is also advertised in Amazon which contains thousands of ebooks. If you are interested with classical novels, then this is for you. For example, I did find stories written in Tagalog or Filipino or novels written by Filipino authors/writers.

2. Smashwords. Very simple site but quite beneficial for people who want to start their careers in publication. The site allows members to upload their stories for free or market it for a minimal cost. It also allows members to download the files in different formats and shared them in various social networking sites such facebook, google, yahoo, twitter, etc.

3. Feedbooks. It is similar to Smashwords but it has a link that list down the popular ebooks every week. It has limited options for downloading formats and for sharing as well.

IF YOU HAVE DIFFICULTY IN FINDING A GOOD READ,  then maybe you could browse my other blogsite about my passion for books. Check it out for updates on free ebooks and other excellent books available in the bookshops or online shops. CLICK HERE TO FIND OUT MORE!

Reminder: The featured ebooks above are free for downloading, however it does not guaranteed that it will be free from the time you have access to these books. You have to check it first before downloading them, otherwise you will be charged. Majority of the classics ones are free!
~ by reymos on December 31, 2010.

6 Responses to “Amazon Kindle: a new way of reading books”

  1. unfortunately, I don’t use Kindle. But I have an app on my i pod but I seldom use it. I wasn’t captivated by the gadget kasi so I still like the old fashioned page-fiddling 😀

    hey thanks for dropping by 🙂

    • Hi Jules, Happy new year! thanks for the comment. It is nice to have other reading options. I still love to collect hard copies for my proposed mini-library in my hometown. But for long travelling, these gadgets/devices are really convenient.

  2. […] I also posted a journal about Amazon Kindle as the latest way of reading books and a travel gadget. I love my Kindle#G very much and it is indeed an ultimate travel companion which allows you to bring thousands of books with out  being charged for “excess luggage”.  I recommended a handful of websites that offer free ebooks for download, as well as ebooks free from Amazon website. To find out more, CLICK HERE. […]

  3. […] I also posted a journal about Amazon Kindle as the latest way of reading books and a travel gadget. I love my Kindle#G very much and it is indeed an ultimate travel companion which allows you to bring thousands of books with out  being charged for “excess luggage”.  I recommended a handful of websites that offer free ebooks for download, as well as ebooks free from Amazon website. To find out more, CLICK HERE. […]

  4. […] I also posted a journal about Amazon Kindle as the latest way of reading books and a travel gadget. I love my Kindle3G very much and it is indeed an ultimate travel companion which allows you to bring thousands of books with out  being charged for “excess luggage”.  I recommended a handful of websites that offer free ebooks for download, as well as ebooks free from Amazon website. To find out more, CLICK HERE. […]

  5. Nice site ….)

Leave a Reply

 
