Blog My Town 301: It’s more fun visiting museums in the Philippines

THIS IS MY SECOND TIME to explore BenCab Museum in Baguio City.  There is no reason not to visit this place while staying in the summer capital of the Philippines. With low-bat digital camera, I used my Samsung mobile to capture the things inside the museum on my first visit. However, unlucky I was, I lost my mobile on my birthday last December, and almost  the images of the museum were gone (for good!). Whoever got my mobile, hope he/she will be inspired to visit the museum.

THIS SECOND TIME around, with all the back-ups – having 2 cameras, including my Blackberry playbook, I did enjoy very much exploring the priceless collection of Ben Cabrera – from wooden carvings to landscaping! And of course, I was able to met the artist himself in person…

The museum houses the permanent collection of Philippine National Artist Benedicto Cabrera (aka BenCab) within the three-level beautifully laid-out building. It also features some of the Filipino masters and rising contemporary artists. There are eight galleries showcasing the artist’s own works from 60s to 80s, the artist’s collection of tribal artifacts and indigenous crafts of the Igorots, the artist’s personal collection of paintings, drawings, prints and sculpture, and many more!

One of the highlights of the museum is the “farm and garden” area located below the museum which showcase organic farm produce and the typical indigenous architecture of the Ifugao, Kalinga and Bontoc.

GENERAL INFORMATION: Opens every Tuesdays to Sundays – 9AM to 6PM, except Mondays, 25 Dec and 1 Jan; Admission is PhP100.00 (US$2.5 or BritishSterling – 1.75); with special rates for students and senior citizens, included guided tours. The museum is a 15-minute car drive from city centre of Baguio located at Km.6 Asin Road, Tadiangan, Tuba. Tel Nos: +63 74) 442 7165, email:bencabartfoundation@gmail.com; www.bencabmuseum.org or click the image above to be directed to its website.

A rare opportunity to meet the artist himself. He told me that his two paintings missing last year were not found until now.

~ by reymos on April 2, 2012.

Leave a comment